Five Frequently Asked Questions About Maryland DUIs

Driving under the influence of alcohol in Maryland carries severe penalties because of the seriousness of the possible outcomes. According to the CDC, 29 people die every day due to motor vehicle crashes caused by an impaired driver. This amounts to 28% of all traffic-related deaths every year in the United States.

If you find yourself charged with a DUI, you may have questions regarding its details and consequences. Here are five frequently asked questions that include very important information about DUIs and how the Law Office of C. Gregory Coburn can help you.

1.What are the rules about blood alcohol levels in Maryland?

Driving under the influence (or a DUI) is given to those who have a BAC of .08 and above. Any alcohol level of .07 or lower will often result in being charged with driving while impaired(DWI). The amount of alcohol consumed to reach this level depends upon the person’s sex, tolerance, body mass, and time frame of drinking, even if they eat before, during, or after drinking.

2.Will I lose my license to drive?

There is a very good possibility that you will lose your license if you are convicted of a DUI or DWI, depending on the results of your case. Depending on the results, your license can be revoked. No matter the results, however, even being charged with a DUI will result in a suspension of your driving license. This can have a dramatic effect on your life, no matter the amount of time the suspension lasts.

3.Will I lose my job?

If you hold a commercial commercial drivers license (CDL) and drive for a living or even if driving a non commercial vehicle, a conviction or refusal to submit to a breathalyzer will result in a 1 year suspension. If your CDL has been previously suspended for an alcohol offence, you have a lifetime disqualification. Clearly this will have a negative effect on your employment.

4.How can I clear my name of a DUI charge?

By working with the Law Office of C. Gregory Coburn, we will endeavor to create a positive outcome regarding your case. Having a DUI disissed or reduced depends greatly upon the circumstances and facts about your case. An experienced defense attorney can present defenses regarding problems regarding your arrest, and proper protocol on administering field sobriety tests and/or the intoximeter to determine the blood alcohol content.. You can argue for due process if the police officer that gave the arrest did not practice lawful procedures.

If you do get convicted due to the circumstances of your case, there is a way to avoid having the conviction of a DUI upon your traffic record. If this is your first DUI, you may agree to serve a probationary period. The requirements of this period may include a restricted license and the use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you break probation, you will face the consequences of the full DUI charge.

5.What happens if I am charged with more than one DUI?

According to Maryland law, If you have been convicted of several DUI’s in the past, the penalties depend on the number of prior convictions

  • For second offenses, you can expect license revocation or suspension, monetary fines, an ignition airlock, and up to 2 years in jail.
  • For third offenses, in addition to a licence revocation for more than 1 year, a maximum sentence of up to 3 years and/or a fine not to exceed $3,000.

It is important to note that there is a “look-back” period of prior DUI charges: the judge may consider prior convictions within a ten-year period.

C. Gregory Coburn is an experienced defense attorney that can help reduce the penalties of your DUI charge. Work with us and we can guide you through the whole process to receive a favorable outcome. Give us a call at the Law Office of C. Gregory Coburn today!