Need a Maryland DUI Attorney?

All it takes is one bad decision and you may find yourself in need of a Maryand DUI attorney.  If you are having few drinks after dinner, you risk your life, other’s lives, and your future if you decide to drive afterward.  If you get pulled over, you could be charged with DWI or even a DUI offense.

Maryland DUI Attorney

DWI or DUI: What’s the Difference In Maryland?

Most people refer to a DUI as drunk driving but ‘drunk driving’ has no legal meaning.  Instead, the terms DUI (meaning Driving Under the Influence) or DWI (Driving While Impaired) are used.   In Maryland, a DUI is a more serious offense than a DWI, however, many judges treat a DWI as seriously as Driving Under the Influence depending on the facts of the case and whether the driver charged knowingly refused to take a Breath Alcohol Test (BAC)

The legal drinking age in the United States is 21 and that is the same across the entire country.  Maryland has a no tolerance policy for anyone who drinks underneath that age and any offenders may have their license suspended or even revoked.  For drivers over 21, the legal BAC limit is .08% but for commercial drivers, the level is .04%.

Driving While Impaired (DWI)

Drinking and driving photo. Glass of wine and car keys

Many people wonder exactly how many drinks will put them over the legal limit.  Unfortunately, there is no one size fits all answer.  For one person, it might be one drink while for another it could be 5. It all depends on the individual’s unique physical characteristics including age, weight, sex, height, last time they ate, and how many drinks they have had over a given time.

That is why it is critical that you hire a qualified Maryland DUI attorney if you are facing a charge.  Each case is unique and your attorney will help you navigate through the entire process.

Do You Need a Maryland DUI Attorney?

Again, each case is different and only your Maryland DUI attorney will be able to tell you exactly what your options are, based upon your unique case.  However, in general, these are the punishments for those convicted of DUI/DWI in Maryland.

DUI:  BAC of .08% or higher

dwi attorneyFirst Offense:

  • License revoked for 1 year
  • $1000 Fine
  • Up to 1 Year in Jail
  • Ignition Interlock may be ordered

Second Offense:

  • License revoked for 1 year
  • Installation of Ignition Interlock Device
  • $2000 Fine
  • Mandatory jail time up to 2 Years
  • Mandatory Participation in an Alcohol Treatment Program

DWI in Ocean City

DWI: BAC less than .08% (Usually charged when other factors are included such as property damage or refusal to submit to a Breath Alcohol Test (BAC).  Officer discretion is a major factor in this charge.)

DWI testingFirst Offense:

  • License suspended for 6 months
  • $500 Fine
  • Up to 2 months in Jail

Second Offense:

  • License suspended for 1 year
  • $1,000 Fine
  • Up to 1 Year in Jail

Refusal to Submit to Breath Alcohol Test

  • License suspension for 270 days or participation in the Ignition Interlock Program for 1 year
  • 2-year suspension for second or subsequent offense
  • May result in mandatory Ignition Interlock ordered by Court or the Motor Vehicle Administration.

The punishments will be greater if you are traveling with a minor, or if you face additional charges.


The Next Step

If you are facing a DUI or DWI in Maryland, then you need to contact an experienced Maryland DUI attorney because facing the justice system alone can be scary and stressful.  The team at Coburn Law will be happy to assist and advise you in your case.  Each situation is unique and we want to make sure you know what the best choice is for you.  If you are facing a DUI or DWI charge, don’t hesitate and give us a call today.  You can also fill out our form located here.  You can read more here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *